All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

TM Backpackers Camp
June 14, 2012 02:46PM
I'm heading out tomorrow and I see the TM campground is sort of open at this point but can any of you kind folks tell me if the backpackers section is open yet or will I have to take my chances with a first-come first-served site?
June 14, 2012 03:08PM
Not to waste your time... since I don't know... but I would be surprised if it wasn't open for your business
since Loop A is open... and BP campground is ... ya know... like right there and all.
(and to waste more of your time... the only BP campground that I have every slept in was at HH)
(so I'm no expert on BP campgrounds... but I do know where they are) wink

Have fun

Chick-on is looking at you!
Re: TM Backpackers Camp
June 14, 2012 03:19PM
Thanks chick-on!
I figure I'll head up and give it a try unless anyone knows for sure that it isn't open, worst comes to worst I'll have to try my luck at White Wolf or Hetch Hetchy.
June 14, 2012 03:45PM
You actually slept at the hetch hetchy one?
June 14, 2012 03:51PM
oakroscoe

Many many times. Pre 9/11.

We used to drive up after work... Kiosk would be closed...
Sleep the night... get up and drive to kiosk at 7am... pick up
permit... and be on our way.

Or.. if get there before kiosk closed... night hike to Beehive.

Nowadays... I just get my booty up at 4am and drive to park...
pick up permit... and get a hike-on.

June 14, 2012 04:39PM
Another option is that there are lots of undeveloped camp sites in the forest along Evergreen Rd before you reach Camp Mather.
June 14, 2012 04:49PM
Ok, that actually makes sense. I forgot about the permit & that it didn't used to close at night. I think doing it at night would actually improve that trail to beehive.