Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Fern on the Four Mile Trail, Yosemite National Park

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (79% of Full)

Advanced

Stolen gear

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Stolen gear
May 24, 2006 10:28AM
Hello Folks,

This is my first post here. I've never been a resident of the Yosemite area but have been visiting the park and area often for three decades. Normally I just use your site to pick up intertesting information however I had some expensive gear stolen in the park last week and thought it worthwhile to let you locals know what happened in the remote chance one of you sees my climbing pack in particular.

I'm a long time landscape photographer of the Sierra and was working the park last Thursday late afternoon May 18 just before 7pm at Valley View. At the time it was jammed with photographers and others catching late afternoon light. As I drove up a vehicle in the center parking spot pulled out so I moved in. Other vehicles were parked behind the regular spots as I'm sure all of you have seen during such periods. I got out of my Subaru, took a quick image informational pic with my digicamera, walked to the right side looked a few moments then walked backed to my car and drove off. All told I was out of my car less than a minute and my car was always in view of where I stood. I habitually tend to be considerable aware of my car and gear.