Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Yosemite Falls

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (89% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Cables

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Cables
May 12, 2003 09:11AM
<HTML>I have been hiking half dome for the past 5 years and looks to me as if this year will be the most spectacular yet. There has been some massive snow falls late this year and the mist trails should be more than 'misty'.

Probably bring a poncho this year along the trail. Any idea if the cables will be up by Memorial day weekend?</HTML>

Half Dome - World's Best Hiking Place
May 13, 2003 02:34PM
<HTML>I also would be interested in any estimates on when the cables will go up. I am hoping to climb Half Dome for the first time when the cables go up.</HTML>
May 13, 2003 06:25PM
<HTML>this is the latest from the nps web site

The cables to the top of Half Dome are down. The cables will not be put up this week (5/11) due to snow conditions along the cable route. The route will be re-evaluated for next week (week of 5/18).
The Mist Trail and all of the John Muir Trail in the Vernal/Nevada Falls area are both open.
The Four Mile Trail is closed for the winter due to dangerous conditions in the avalanche chutes. This trail usually reopens by late May, conditions permitting.</HTML>
May 14, 2003 12:50PM
<HTML>More info from the YNP daily report.
Some good news to report!

The Vernal/Nevada Falls corridor has been fully opened from the winter route status. This gives hikers access to all parts of the trail system to
the top of Nevada Fall. Icy conditions are likely to persist on cold mornings, so care should be taken until things really warm up. We will be
partially opening the Four Mile Trail by tomorrow to allow hikers to go almost up to the hazardous sections of the trail (about 2 miles now, and