Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Tuolumne Meadows and Lembert Dome during a summer storm, Yosemite National Park

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (79% of Full)

JanSport

Advanced

Re: advise for a two day hike

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

advise for a two day hike
December 30, 2007 10:46PM
Hi there, I'm a newbie to snow camping (I just moved from a warm Country) and I'm looking for a somewhat easy overnight hike (it will be my first on snow). After reviewing some maps of Yosemite Valley I came up with going to the area of the Little Yosemite Valley campground avoiding the closed parts of the Mist and John Muir trails, camp around there and just come back the next day. I'm travelling with my wife (who's not really experienced camping in any conditions), does this sound like an easy enough hike? could you give me any other recomendations?

Thanks a lot,

R.
Re: advise for a two day winter hike
December 31, 2007 06:31AM
Bad idea. The hike from Yosemite Valley floor to Little Yosemite Valley is up-up-up 2,000 feet. It's definitely not easy. It is difficult without a backpack. It is difficult with a summer backpack. It would be extremely difficult with a backpack filled with winter gear. You (or your wife) may get sick working that hard at high altitudes if you haven't spent time at that high elevation. When dealing with winter conditions, you're going to want to bring extra food in case you get trapped in a storm. If it was snowing, it would make it even harder on the acscent or decent.

I wouldn't recommend snowcamping with someone who doesn't have camping, let alone backpacking, experience. My husband and I took a snowcamping training class through the Sierra Club before attempting snowcamping in the mountains http://snowcamping.org