All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Obelisk Lake
December 10, 2008 06:52AM
I'm considering going to Lake Merced, and than dayhiking out to Obelisk Lake assuming I can find it. I'm fairly new to backpacking (three 3 day trips alone to El Cap. and LYV over the last month). I was wondering if anyone has done this trip, and what route they took. There are a couple mentioned, crossing the merced river south of the ranger station and bushwhacking up Gray Peak Fork, and another crossing further upstream and scrambling up granite slabs in a straight line for Obelisk Lake. If they have been there, regardless of the route, whether they think the snow that's forecast for this weekend might be problematic for a non-climber.

Thanks

Roland
December 11, 2008 06:35AM
I'm not surprised about no replies on this one....
The one on Half Dome.... maybe everyone is in hibernation or thinking about the holidays?!?

Anyway, the best info on Obelisk is here:

http://yosemiteexplorer.com/trails/obelisk-lake

I think it says what I would recommend... give youself a day for it from
Lake Merced... unless you are experienced xcountry hiker....
Re: Obelisk Lake
December 11, 2008 10:48AM