Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Yosemite Valley

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (57% of Full)

JanSport

Advanced

Take the "Search" out of Search and Rescue!

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Take the "Search" out of Search and Rescue!
August 07, 2013 07:43PM
I am an obsessive reader of SAR operations, with both good and bad outcomes, and one thing that constantly sticks out at me is the work that has to be done to FIND lost people.

I'm also a professional sailing instructor, and I've attended many safety talks. One that I attended a few years back was titled "take the Search out of Search and Rescue", which was taught be a decades-experienced Coast Guard SAR expert. He demonstrated a whole variety of items and techniques to facilitate being found.

But over, and over, I see searches conducted for people, where they could not be easily found, although they were not far from rescue.

Unfortunately, in the land arena, I don't see a similar approach. It seems to me that this deserves more attention.

For example, one of the easiest things to do when you have been lost for a day or so to do, is to light a smokey fire. Fires are never considered normal in the backcountry, are easy to spot from a high spot or the air, and when seen, even if a SAR operation is not in progress, will usually be investigated.

Thoughts?
avatar Re: Take the "Search" out of Search and Rescue!
August 07, 2013 07:59PM
Ken M
For example, one of the easiest things to do when you have been lost for a day or so to do, is to light a smokey fire. Fires are never considered normal in the backcountry, are easy to spot from a high spot or the air, and when seen, even if a SAR operation is not in progress, will usually be investigated.

Thoughts?