Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Tuolumne Meadows and Lembert Dome during a summer storm, Yosemite National Park

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (61% of Full)

Advanced

First Backpacking Trip

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

First Backpacking Trip
April 22, 2014 03:22PM
My 19 year old daughter and I have been camping and hiking in Yosemite each summer for the past 13 years. We are now considering an actual backpacking trip but since neither of us has ever done more than day hikes that end back to our comfy little trailer in the valley, we are a little hesitant to head out on our own. Does a trip between Tuolumne Meadows and Reds Meadow along the JMT sound reasonable? We have done the Panorama Trail, Mist Trail to Nevada Falls, top of Yosemite Falls, 4 Mile Trail all without problem but overnight in the wilderness is a completely different thing. I know it is 30 miles so I was thinking 2 nights out? I have been doing lots of reading in terms of gear needed, permits, trail etiquette, etc hoping to educate myself but with all the experts around here I would love some input.
Re: First Backpacking Trip
April 22, 2014 05:03PM
There's a big difference between day hiking and backpacking......weight. Make sure you get a lightweight pack and lightweight gear. And, you'll be hiking mostly above 9-10k feet. Don't underestimate the effect of altitude when loaded down with 25-30 lbs. You might want to do a shakedown hike, maybe an overnighter, at altitude. Mosquito flats-ruby lake comes to mind. Then adjust as necessary and do the TM to Reds trip. By the way, that's one of the most beautiful (and popular) in the sierra.
April 22, 2014 06:25PM
We will definitely want to keep the weight to a minimum. I think the idea of just an overnighter is a good one. Thanks for the advice!
avatar Re: First Backpacking Trip