Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Pothole Dome (Tuolumne Meadows, Yosemite National Park)

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (60% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Hello! I'm a Yosemite Newbie!

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Hello! I'm a Yosemite Newbie!
April 17, 2014 11:48AM
Hey All,

I just got my campsite booked (upper pines) and will be road-tripping from Atlanta this late summer. I've been doing some research on Yosemite -- bought a few books. I'm a photographer and any tips that may not have been mentioned in Michael Frye's "Photographer's Guide to Yosemite" would be helpful!

For you veterans, were there any "gotchas" in that you guys came across during your first experience?

Thanks everybody and look forward to checking this site out more!
avatar Re: Hello! I'm a Yosemite Newbie!
April 17, 2014 11:52AM
After you see everything one can see from car access in Yosemite try some day hikes away from the maddening crowds. There are countless hidden photographic treasures on the trails.
Jim
April 17, 2014 03:14PM
While you will have plenty to see in Yosemite Valley where you are camped, do plan to get out of the valley if you can. This was a dry year, and late summer will mean low flow in the waterfalls in the Valley, and Yosemite Falls may/will be dry by the time you get there. Check out Wawona, Glacier Point, and Tuolumne Meadows...depending on how much time you have you could spend multiple days in the vicinity of each of the above. Sooo much to see!
April 25, 2014 07:56AM
How long will you be there?

Steve
April 25, 2014 10:45AM
Bring a bike and a cable lock if you can manage it. A bicycle is a great way to get around the valley without having to use a car and you can get away from the crowds quickly.
Re: Hello! I'm a Yosemite Newbie!
May 06, 2014 07:51AM
wgmann03
Hey All,