Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Tenaya Lake, Yosemite National Park

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (73% of Full)

nordvpn

Advanced

Re: TR - 1000 Island Lake and surrounding areas 6/30-7/4

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

TR - 1000 Island Lake and surrounding areas 6/30-7/4
July 07, 2014 02:56PM
This is my first attempt at a trip report, so bear with me as I try to put our trip into words (and photos).

My brother and I (both fairly new to backpacking - but not to hiking in general) went on a 4-night trip to the Ansel Adams Wilderness on 6/30-7/4.
Never having been to this area of the backcountry we made sure to study past trip reports from all over the internet (there are plenty to get ideas from). We decided on making a loop trip starting from Agnew Meadows via the High Trail (PCT) first going to 1000 Island Lake for night one, then to Garnet Lake for night two, then onto Shadow Creek, just shy of Lake Ediza, for the following two nights (dayhiking the area around Shadow Creek). Kind of wish we would have taken the layover day at 1000 Island after the first night instead of at the end of the trip but still had a great time in such a beautiful area.

The mosquitoes were pretty bad throughout the week leaving both of us with multiple bites but were not bad enough for either of us to use the Deet we brought along. The headnets definitely came in handy while sitting around camp as well. The (record?) high temps were also a factor especially the first couple days. Along the high trail especially - quite a few dry creeks on the way to 1000 Island and many with very little water.