All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Buying backpacking equipment. Any tips?
October 16, 2014 06:12PM
I am looking to buy a backpack, stove, sleeping bag, etc. Websites to research?
I tried a search here, but not much luck so far.

Looking 70 liters or more for the backpack. As a dad, I have a feeling that I will be carrying more than my share, so probably will need a pack that is big.
I am 6 foot(19 inch torso), the pack size is on the upper range of medium / lower range of large, depending. I went to REI and tried on a couple.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/22/2014 08:01AM by snorkus.
avatar Re: Buying backpacking equipment. Any tips?
October 16, 2014 06:33PM
Let's break this apart...

Sleeping Bag: Where, and when, do you plan to backpack? I have a 40 degree, 20 degree, and 0 degree bag. The 0 degree is only useful in the Sierra in winter. 20...typical for 3-season Sierra use, though I was happy with my 40 last weekend in Little Yosemite. 40...very useful in areas closer to the coast. So let's assume you're buying one bag to start, you'll want something in which you can survive during the worst of what you could encounter while being happy in the normal case.

Some of the other items will depend on the "where and when" question, for example tent, stove, water filter/purifier/whatever, etc.
Re: Buying backpacking equipment. Any tips?
October 16, 2014 07:15PM
Lots of venues, sales, end-of-the-year, on-line places to buy gear...lots of options/ lots of opinions -
If you can honestly say you are in this for the long term, not just a passing fancy...(You're sure?)*

After you have searched, done your due-diligence homework... (workmanship - size - weight - fit - cost - reviews)...narrowed things down to but a few "wise" choices,

Always buy the better...never skimp/settle on the major pieces.