Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Pothole Dome (Tuolumne Meadows, Yosemite National Park)

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (79% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Looking for a snowshoe day hike in Yosemite

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Looking for a snowshoe day hike in Yosemite
January 08, 2017 08:13PM
So this is the first step in what I hope will be progression towards backpacking/camping in Yosemite (and elsewhere) in the heart of winter. Being able to get out year-round would be great. I have no experience winter camping, but am very comfortable in wilderness for week+ during the warmer months.

I'm pretty confident that it will be something that I enjoy; my SO is not so sure. I'd like to start slowly to give her some time to become comfortable with the cold and snow, and I'm thinking that a good first step would be a day (snowshoe) hike. Badger Pass (Yosemite Ski & Snowboard Area?) to Dewey Point looks beautiful, very easy - and very "crowded" (by winter standards). I'm wondering if there are other day adventures with beautiful winter vistas, but fewer people. During the warmer months we generally are traveling cross-country, avoiding people and enjoying a true wilderness experience. While walking in a (snow) track opened by someone else has already opened up may be easier, breaking new (snowshoe) trail seems like a lot more fun to me. As long as it's not too long/difficult, that may also appeal to my hiking partner. Suggestions?