All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Shoes for trekking?
February 07, 2017 07:31PM
Hey Guys! I am a rookie trekker. I have gone for only easy and moderate level trekking. I am planning to go for more trekking in next few months including one through Yellowstone. Just to confirm, are there moderate level trekking near Old faithful area? Another concern is about trekking shoes I am about to buy. I am looking to buy one of these: https://shop.mistersafetyshoes.com/products/302120-trail with me. Are they good enough for trekking purpose? It would be great if someone could provide some model names I can have a look at. Thanks!
Re: Shoes for trekking?
February 07, 2017 08:31PM
Those shoes look like they may have enough support. However, I prefer shoes with higher ankle support, as my ankles tend to wobble.
February 09, 2017 11:57AM
LRK
my ankles tend to wobble.

Me too, and usually after one too many martinis in the Mountain Room bar! grinning smiley
February 08, 2017 06:02AM
These appear to be safety shoes. IMO these are probably a lot heavier than you need for trekking. For the $$ you can do better. As a start, try the REI website. Then go to your local outfitter and talk to the experts.
February 08, 2017 06:32PM
Most of the walking around Old Faithful is flat or slight elevations changes with the exception of Observation Loop Trail which is steep but short and worth it because of the view. There are other moderate hikes in the area. I suggest you go to the park website and look at the hikes. I have both low, mid and high boots so I can deal with multiple kinds of hiking and conditions. However these are my favorite boots and use them the most. Just remember that boots are a very personal thing and what I like you might not.

http://www.vasque.com/USD/product/womens-footwear/hiking/talus-ud-bungee-cord-purple-07419