Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Pothole Dome (Tuolumne Meadows, Yosemite National Park)

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (58% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Little Yosemite Valley Camping

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Little Yosemite Valley Camping
May 09, 2017 06:05PM
Hi everyone. Silly questions below! (But, they'll probably be easy for you to answer!)

We'll be at Yosemite in June and have a backcountry permit for Happy Isles to Little Yosemite Valley for a few days.

The backcountry stuff is mostly new to us -- we've camped for a number of years at RV campgrounds, etc. With very little exception, I'm used to reserving or getting a specific location for our camp. So, weeks (or months) in advance, we reserve a spot and are then told our site number where we setup our camp.

I'm just a newbie and feeling a little uncomfortable with the concept of "make your way to Little Yosemite Valley and find a spot to setup your tent.".

How do you know where you can setup your tent? Will there be spots available? Are there individual tent/camp "locations" or is it just setup your tent wherever within the bounds of the campground?

Sorry to start with such lame questions but I'm feeling uncomfortable with this and, as much as I've searched, I haven't really found the answer to these questions.

When we walk into the campground, how do we know where we can setup our tent?

Also, would you recommend getting to the campground early, setting up our tent and then day hiking the rest of the day? Or, is there a "best time" to reach LYV?

Thanks for any help.

Lacy
avatar Re: Little Yosemite Valley Camping
May 09, 2017 06:30PM

How do you know where you can setup your tent? Will there be spots available? Are there individual tent/camp "locations" or is it just setup your tent wherever within the bounds of the campground?