All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Confused with happy Isles trail head
December 02, 2009 02:21PM
I have very little Yosemite experience and im not filmure with the trail heads.Im planning on makeing a trip from Yosemite valley to Twaleme Meadows, as soon as the weather permits me to. I have been looking at some maps of the trial and i cant figure out where i would enter the John Muir trail from the Happly Isles trail head. From the info i have gathered Happy Isles is the Trail head for the Mist Trail and i know i don't want to take the MT out of Yosemite Valley with full backpacking gear.So where would i enter the John Muir Trail and how much of a difference in miles and difficulty would there be between the MT and the JMT out of Yosemite Valley? Thank You

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/07/2009 09:03PM by Bee.
avatar Re: Confised with happy Isles trail head
December 02, 2009 02:23PM
Think of the Mist Trail as just a little shortcut on the John Muir Trail. It saves you a little bit of distance but is steep and wet.
December 02, 2009 02:52PM
Mist Trail is very nice and, like eeek says, a shortcut. But one thought occurs to me that you should know, it has steps and plenty of people traveling through there. If you are loaded heavy or bulky like an astronaut you may want to reconsider as you will be weaving through people and worried if you take a bad step (when going down). Do others on the thread agree?
December 02, 2009 02:54PM
Catalonian Burro
Mist Trail is very nice and, like eeek says, a shortcut. But one thought occurs to me that you should know, it has steps and plenty of people traveling through there. If you are loaded heavy or bulky like an astronaut you may want to reconsider as you will be weaving through people and worried if you take a bad step (when going down). Do others on the thread agree?