Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Yosemite Falls

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (55% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Cathedral Lakes to Yosemite Valley

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Cathedral Lakes to Yosemite Valley
June 20, 2010 03:32PM
I'm planning on backpacking from the Cathedral Lakes trail head to Yosemite Valley via the John Muir trail. I will be entering on 6/27. Has anyone been through this area within the last week or so? How is the snow coverage? I have some route finding experience but have never traveled on snow before. Should I be looking for an alternative to this trail, and if so what might have better conditions? Any information is greatly appreciated. I really hope that conditions will be permitting as I plan to make this my younger brothers introduction to Yosemite, but at the same time I don't want to bite off more than I can chew; to be cliche about it.
avatar Re: Cathedral Lakes to Yosemite Valley
June 20, 2010 03:52PM
You're probably biting off more than you can chew.
Upper and Lower both have significant ice coverage.
Snow Coverage very quickly is 100% with a huge amount of sun cups.
June 20, 2010 04:46PM
Ahh... what the heck. Lemme scare the crapola outta you:

There's a lot of features in the photo above.
The one's you care about are those two frozen lakes there.
The furthest away one is Lower and the closer one is upper.
I could draw in the trail for you but it wouldn't matter... it's all snow.
Hiking thru Long Meadow to Sunrise HSC is gonna be
one big long trudge thru loads o sun cups.

Take your brother somewhere else.
June 20, 2010 05:22PM
Great picture. Is that shot from the summit of Echo Peaks?
June 20, 2010 05:33PM
from_mars
Great picture. Is that shot from the summit of Echo Peaks?

From #1. The bird and I went up #1 and #5. Didn't attempt any of the other ones.