Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Yosemite Valley

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (55% of Full)

Advanced

Questions from a first timer

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Questions from a first timer
July 30, 2010 08:37PM
Hey guys, this is my first time planning a trip to Yosemite, and I'm glad that I found this website. I hope that you guys can guide me a bit so my friends and I can have a fun and safe time.

- First off, is there a compilation somewhere of basic information that I should know about planning a 3 day trip, like what to bring, small tips to make the trip more comfortable.

- This was kind of a last minute summer trip with my friends, we're going in two weeks on the weekend of the 14th. The short-sightedness unfortunately means that there were no more available reserved camping spots, meaning we'll be fighting for the 1st come 1st serve spots. The site we're looking at is Camp 4 because we all rock climb; does anyone have any idea how full it would be, how early we should arrive, things we should know about the campsite, etc. If Camp 4 is a bad choice or is full, what's the next best choice?

I will probably have more details as we flesh out the details, but any help you can provide is appreciated. Thanks guys!
avatar Re: Questions from a first timer
July 30, 2010 08:46PM
Well - Camp 4 is $5 per person, per night. Each camper is supposed to check in individually although I'd think if you ask nicely they might be able to get you close to each other or on the same site. I think the weekend will be harder though. There will be a lot of last minute visitors trying to secure a spot at Camp 4.
July 31, 2010 05:02AM
LazyRulerDude