Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Tenaya Lake, Yosemite National Park

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (73% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Cathedral lakes

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Cathedral lakes
September 19, 2010 02:35PM
Hello,
I'm new to the list and will be hiking to the Cathedral lakes area this coming Wednesday. I'm a photographer and will be carrying a tripod and about 10lbs of gear. I read on another forum that there is a climbers trail at the bottom of Medlicott dome that the NFS also uses that goes up the dome and is an easy and shorter approach (1.2miles 1200ft elevation gain) to lower Cathedral lakes. Do you experts think the trail is doable with my gear and if so could you describe where the trail originates at the bottom of Medlicott. I don't believe the trail is marked on any topo maps. Perhaps marking the trail on a topo if not too much trouble.
Thanks
September 19, 2010 06:16PM
Haven't taken it but certain it is a well traveled route.
It's on my list o things to do.
There is a rather "large" gravel parking lot you will more
than likely see cars in just east of the dome.

Something like this: (I know this way is doable)
You realized the real TH trail is less than 3.5 miles?

If you don't like this... then find the SuperTopo Tuolumne Free Climbs book
and check out the maps in there.... they are nice for finding other trails even
if you don't climb.

Chick-on is looking at you!
September 20, 2010 05:11AM
Thanks for your post Chick-on. I'll give the route and your suggested book a try! If I get some good shots, I'll post a few on my return.
September 20, 2010 06:50AM
That book actually shows the trail as a park service trail on pg. 27.
The trail looks like it starts a bit N of where I put it on the pix above.
But just find that parking spot and you should be good to go.