All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Backpacking Yosemite in May
January 27, 2011 10:27AM
Hello folks! I'm heading to Yosemite by train the second week of May. The reason for this is because I have to be back in Chicago by mid-June, after which I won't be able to travel for a while, and I REALLY need to experience Yosemite. Otherwise I would probably push it back until more trails are open. I have some backpacking/camping experience (not in Yosemite) and love the outdoors regardless of conditions. I'll be arriving solo with my pack.

That said, I have a few questions.

What trailheads are usually open in May? Permit reservations necessary?
Is wilderness camping going to be mostly winter/snow conditions?
Are the free shuttles running?

I have heard that this is the most beautiful time to visit because of the waterfalls, but also heard that its not very practical to backpack. Either way, I have made the decision to go, and figure some of you informed folks might be able to help me make the most of it. Any other advice is more than welcome too, thanks!
avatar Re: Backpacking Yosemite in May
January 27, 2011 11:02AM
tjs180
What trailheads are usually open in May? Permit reservations necessary?
Is wilderness camping going to be mostly winter/snow conditions?
Are the free shuttles running?

I don't think any trailhead is theoretically "closed" although the ones along Tioga Road might be difficult to get to until the plowing is complete. I'm not sure what the rules are on skiing/snowshoeing during the plowing. I'm sure all the valley floor trailheads will be easily accesible. You can check for fully booked dates to get an idea of how popular the trailheads are. If you're really cheap, the walk-up permits are free. However - if you want to do Happy Isles-LYV, there are still reserved spot for half he dates in May.