Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Deer in Yosemite

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (59% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Memorial weekend Happy Isles to Sunrise Lakes?

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Memorial weekend Happy Isles to Sunrise Lakes?
May 17, 2011 05:58PM
Hello,
I have a reservation for a Happy Isles/Sunrise Lakes pass through permit for memorial weekend and I'm having a hard time determining how much snow there be on the ground near where I plan to camp the first night (Past the JMT/Half Dome trail junction near Moraine dome). Are we talking 2 feet? 10 feet? This is my first time in Yosemite.

The trail conditions pages (that I've found) aren't particularly helpful. I have snowshoes, and I've used them a couple times on steep mountain trails when it probably was unnecessary, and I'm also generally experienced in uncomfortable postholing, wallowing and complaining in a couple feet of snow on mountain trails, but nothing like the purported 4-6 feet of snow someone last week said was on the trail leading up to Half Dome's subdome. I know nothing of avalanches nor snow bridges nor sun cups.

I've already all but given up on 90% of my destination goals for this trip (Clouds Rest, Half Dome, entire Happy Isles/Yos Falls loop), and of course everything in the valley is booked save single nights here/there that'd be costly to cancel if the trails are ok.

At what point on the trail do you start to need snowshoes? Are there sections of the JMT to Sunrise Lakes that should give a novice snow hiker pause? I'm more concerned about doing something I didn't even know was stupid on snow rather than issues with routefinding or things of that nature.