Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Nevada Falls

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (57% of Full)

Advanced

I'm back!! Radiation report!!

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

avatar I'm back!! Radiation report!!
August 03, 2011 03:52AM
Well we had a GREAT time while at Yosemite. From June 8th - June 23rd we went up Yosemite Falls and camped up there for a few days, stayed at Wawona 6 days and then off to LYV and then on to Half Dome at sunrise the first full day the cables were up.(23rd). My teenage sons (3 ea.) had the time of their life. First time for them and seventh time for me, first time to visit other than winter time. Way too crowded in the valley for me!! Myself being a Welding Inspector, I had just received a new dosimeter for the 2nd quarter of the year (unexposed). I clipped it to my camera bag and had it checked through at airport security not expose to their scanners and then once to the park I wore it on my backpack everywhere I traveled. When not hiking it was clipped at our campsite. I have just received my Dosimetry Report and not to my surprise, it had been exposed to a years exposure limit for a person of general public. (100 mrem/year max.) Mine was exposed to 118 mrem in 16 days!! This was just exposure from the elements of the outdoors. ( Dust, pollen etc.) Filtered water through carbon may not have been too bad, but who knows?? I know something is going to kill us but it is the risk we take!! I thank everyone who passed on info for the planning of our trip of a lifetime for my boys. It was THE BEST!! It is really sad to hear of the fatalities that continue to happen in this great place because of lack of knowledge and skills in the great outdoors. My prayers go out for these families and friends of these people. Once again, THANKS TO ALL for your knowledge and help. Keep up the good job!Bowing t