Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Deer in Yosemite

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (78% of Full)

Advanced

Re: why making your own fire ring is a bad thing

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

why making your own fire ring is a bad thing
August 15, 2011 09:58AM
Last week there were some posts about fire rings, incl. a map someone posted showing locations of known fire rings.

As a volunteer firefighter I can tell you, the coals are never out when you think they are.

Just because that fire went out overnight doesn't mean diddly. Do not leave that site until you douse it, and shovel a good amount of dirt on it.

Also the reason for using only exsisting rings known by the Park Service, is so that these areas can be monitored.

One more thing, don't make an exsisting ring larger for your fire, then the next person will make it larger, and well you get it. Then someday someone will want to make it smaller and all those old coals will be blown around making the whole area look like Ocean Beach after 4th of July.

Thanks for reading my rant.

'I gots to get this pack lighter!!'
avatar Re: why making your own fire ring is a bad thing
August 15, 2011 02:24PM
My impression was that it was outright illegal to create a new fire ring anywhere in the Yosemite wilderness. Is that correct?
August 15, 2011 03:05PM
I thought you can't make new rings because many people view them as a man made blight on the scenery.
August 15, 2011 03:21PM
When you get your permit the ranger tells you not to make any new fire rings.

"Use only existing fire rings, do not build new fire rings." - something to that effect

I personally quit having fires over 10 years ago after burning a cord of wood at
Lake Eleanor and saying to myself "ok, that was just stupid".
I know I'm in the minority on this one though...

Chick-on is looking at you!