All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Rain during the Memorial Weekend -
May 24, 2012 12:30PM
I have been seeing the weather news for this weekend in Yosemite and it looks bad. Is it worth going to Yosemite during this weather on Friday and Saturday?

HS
Re: Rain during the Memorial Weekend -
May 24, 2012 01:44PM
For me, as a photographer, I find the best times to go are when the weather is not at its best. If your looking to do a family picnic outing, the weather might not be the best. I find no matter what the weather in Yosemite, I have never been let down visiting this beautiful place.Bear Head
May 24, 2012 01:47PM
Okay, thanks for your reply. We are a couple and my husband is a photographer. We were planning to leave today evening. But now we have still not decided. There might be thunderstorms also, so in a dilemma.
May 24, 2012 03:31PM
On Friday there is only a chance (50%) of storms dropping down to a chance (30%) on Saturday. The chance of thunderstorms is only on Friday. There is a possiblity that the weather could even change by the time you get there. There is a saying about being in the mountains: "If you don't like the weather, wait 5 minutes."

Your husband will appreciate the photo opps. If it was me, I would go and have a good time even if there is some rain or the possiblity of a thunderstorm.
avatar Re: Rain during the Memorial Weekend -
May 24, 2012 04:18PM
The worst thing about Yosemite this Memorial Day Weekend won't be the weather, it will be the crowds. As long as you can avoid the throngs of people, you should be fine. To avoid the crowds, try to get out of Yosemite Valley by 10:00 AM (if your staying there overnight) and don't come back until 6:00 PM. Explore other parts of the park, including along Glacier Point Road and Tioga Road. If possible, try for some long day hikes during midday.