All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Mathes/Nelson Lake
June 24, 2012 02:38PM
I'm looking for information on getting from the Echo Creek Trail to Mathes Lake and then to Nelson Lake. I have no experience in cross country and am trying to decide if I'm willing to leave the trail (by myself) and make my way from Mathes to Nelson to Elizabeth. Most of the directions that I've read have been in the opposite direction and I don't know if this is sane enough for a 55 year old guy who is in decent shape (could be better) but am rugged and motivated. But I would really like to see this area and spend a very quiet 1 1/2 days of bliss.

Does anybody have any advice?
June 24, 2012 05:27PM
I did that in the reverse direction last year.