All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Questions for a short winter trip
January 17, 2013 07:19PM
Hello there knowledgeable Yosemite folk.

I'm in the park for a couple of nights in mid Feb for the first time. Really looking forward to taking some landscape shots as I'm a fairly keen photographer.

I really want to get up out of the valley and from what I've read, unless there has been a recent snowfall this shouldn't be too difficult on the more popular trails - is this correct?

I understand you can rent showshoes fairly easily also, from badger ski area, although this seems to be in a different area than where I'm staying (camp curry).

At the moment I'm thinking upper Yosemite falls looks good. I know it's always a tough hike, but are there things I should be particularly aware of? from photos it seems like there are some patches that could be dicey if they're iced over.

If that is probably a bit ambitious for a first timer, does anyone have a recommendation for good valley views, hikes etc?

FYI I'm fairly fit, 29 yr old from NZ, keen downhill skier so feel reasonably comfortable in alpine environments, but haven't snowshoe'd before. I

Any tips or glaring omissions you'd like to give / point out would be most appreciated! Thanks very much. Matt
Re: Questions for a short winter trip
January 17, 2013 07:59PM
I would consider Yosemite Falls, Snow Creek (past Mirror Lake) to the large flat area just before the bridge/junction, and Dewey Point from the Badger Pass ski area. You can take a shuttle bus from the valley to Badger and rent snowshoes there; you generally will not need snowshoes for Yos Falls or Snow Creek unless there was a recent cold storm.