All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Yosemite 2013
January 23, 2013 09:59AM
After 20 years of minivans, my family has moved to the next stage of life and I can start driving a pickup again. Got a small pickup that I'm putting a shell on and setting up for camping.

We've family camped Yosemite for years during the summer months, mostly in the valley, one year up in Tuolumne. I've backpacked the high country (both solo and with a partner) for years but, again, exclusively in the summer.

My goal for 2013: to camp at least 1 night in Yosemite every month of 2013 (except Jan - won't have my shell until Feb). I also want to camp at all 11 of the different campgrounds (I consider North. Lower and Upper Pines essentially 1 campground).

I'll probably double up on the first-come/first-served campgrounds in July & Aug (I'm a high school teacher so mid-week trips are very do-able in the summer months)

I really want to explore as much of the park as possible and see it through all the seasons, not just summer.

Current Proposed Itinerary:

Feb - Wawona and/or Upper Pines - Skate Curry Village, Xcountry Ski Badger
Mar - Upper Pines(site reserved) - Explore the Valley in Spring
April - Lower PInes(site reserved) - Celebrate My Birthday
May - Hodgdon(site reserved) - Hetch Hetchy and Tuolumne Grove
June - Wawona or North Pines or Hodgdon(need to reserve site) - ???
July - Bridalveil/White Wolf/Yosemite Creek/Porcupine Flat (in order of preference) - day hike exploration & a 3 night backpack of Hetch Hetchy
Aug - Bridalveil/White Wolf/Yosemite Creek/Porcupine Flat (in order of preference) - day hike exploration & a 3-4 night backpack thru Red Peak Pass
Sept - reserve in Tuolumne or Crane Flat/Tamarack Flat/Porcupine Flat - Cathedral Lakes or day hike exploration
Oct - Crane Flat/Tamarack Flat/Porcupine Flat - day hike explorations