Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Yosemite Valley

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (58% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Reserve Your Site!!!

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Short visit questions
February 19, 2013 06:28AM
Newbie here. Haven't been to Yosemite NP yet, have been to loads of other NPs on a road trip we did in 2011.

I have a few questions.

We are picking up a campervan in San Francisco on Saturday 23 March (late afternoon). I'm wondering if we should immediately drive to Yosemite or would it be best to stay overnight near San Francisco (thinking of Anthony Chabot)? If we drive on to Yosemite, I think we'd be there by 10pm-ish.

We only have 3 nights, returning the campervan on Tuesday morning by 10am.

I'm trying to work out which camp ground to choose in Yosemite. Do I choose Upper Pines, which already seems quite booked up or Wawona? If we would arrive so late on Saturday evening, would we still be able to get space at Wawona?

Thank you for your help.
Re: Short visit questions
February 19, 2013 07:03AM
I would pick Upper Pines over Wawona. I just looked and there are still about a dozen sites available during the dates you mentioned. Make a reservation so you don't have to worry about how late you arrive.
February 19, 2013 07:45AM
Yes go for upper pines. Reserve now!
February 19, 2013 07:53AM
Thank you!
Will do that now
February 19, 2013 10:31AM
My vote would be to drive to the park the first night. Even arriving at 10. That way you have a full day for hiking.
February 19, 2013 10:32AM
Oh and why did you only book one night? You need to book every night you need in advance.
February 19, 2013 08:16AM
Another question