Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
A Yosemite bear

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (58% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Fern Ledge

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Fern Ledge
June 03, 2013 04:22PM
Anyone out there have experience with this hike/scramble? I have heard about a potenially dangerous stretch with loose sandy shale on granite that could pose problems. I have even heard mention of using rope in that area. I would love to do this hike next week but I don't really want to risk death over it. Any thoughts from the experts out there?
June 03, 2013 06:34PM
I'm no expert, but I had the impression that this was a hike better suited for when the falls are nearly dried up. Here is a link to a guy who did it while it was still wet:
http://yosemiteexplorer.com/trails/fern-ledge
Be sure to check his image gallery and the comments at the bottom of each photo.

You can also see a photo from a distance here:
http://yosemitenews.info/forum/read.php?3,64970,64970#msg-64970

I wouldn't do it without a rope.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/03/2013 06:35PM by wherever.
June 03, 2013 07:00PM
Your past has this link-ish..

http://yosemitenews.info/forum/read.php?3,42174,42174#msg-42174

Ryan loves this. Maybe poke him.

Chick-on is looking at you!
June 04, 2013 10:50AM
Thanks, both links are helpful. I might "chicken-out" and just go to Sunnyside Bench, it sounds a little intimidating after that.
June 04, 2013 11:31AM