Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Yosemite Valley

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (55% of Full)

Advanced

Re: TR: May Lake to Glen Aulin to Waterwheel Falls

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

TR: May Lake to Glen Aulin to Waterwheel Falls
July 30, 2013 04:10PM
Bear with me. This is my first attempt at posting photos.

Started out from Tioga Road and in an hour or so, this marmot was signaling to the others that I was approaching May Lake.

Set up the tent with a great view of the lake.

Since I was hiking solo and not being the anti-social type, I ate my meals in the High Sierra Camps. That night at May Lake was pasta night. (The following nights were better. Salmon and pork roast at Glen Aulin).

Lovely lazy afternoon just chilling at May Lake.

The next morning, first one out of camp after a hearty breakfast at the High Sierra Camp. This is one of my favorite spots on the trail from May Lake to Glen Aulin. A high and windy hill, no mosquitos, and a view down to Glen Aulin.

I love wildflowers and the wet rock gardens along this stretch of the trail were full of blooms. This is an alpine lily.

After fighting the mosquitos in the forested portion of the May Lake to Glen Aulin trail, I finally arrive at the White Cascade.

Sunset turns the Tuolumne River pink at Glen Aulin.

The next morning, with just a daypack, I started off to Waterwheel Falls. I have to say that without the help of the rest of you, I might have confused LeConte Falls with Waterwheel Falls.

So here are just a few nice scenes along the trail.
]

Arrived at the Waterwheels. I didn't want to get any closer to the edge than that. The best footage I got is on video.