Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Half Dome, Yosemite National Park

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (78% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Hiking Questions from a total novice

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Hiking Questions from a total novice
June 15, 2015 12:51PM
I've been obsessed with Yosemite for years and I've read just about anything I can get my hands on (by the way - HUGE thanks and gratitude to Chick-On Chick-on avec les pieds for the incredible posts and pictures. Your photos are a real treasure - you've made this lady very happy!). For those with lots of Yosemite experience, what's a not-to-miss hike you would recommend for novice hikers? I mean really novice - we are from the midwest, where land doesn't get any flatter. Yosemite books and videos recommend the typical touristy spots (Glacier Point, blah blah blah) but I am interested in the hikes that aren't quite as common. Here are my thoughts: Hiking to the top of Liberty Cap? Grizzly Peak? Half Dome Diving Board? (I've heard the HDDB trail is hard to find.....and are the slopes and manzanitas pretty trecherous, or not too bad?). I'm also fascinated with John Muir's Fern Ledge, but I've read horror stories about Sunnyside Bench eye popping smiley Thanks very much! smiling smiley
June 15, 2015 01:44PM
"Not-to-miss hike" for "really novice".

I highly recommend that you are not scared away from the "touristy" spots. If you really are "really novice" then all the hikes you mentioned really are not suitable.