All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Failed reservations attempt!!!
April 15, 2009 07:44AM
So it's my first time trying to reserve a campsite for myself and some friends. I'd would just like to express my frustration at the whole system. I feel that it is nearly impossible to get anything with it. Me and my girlfriend were prepped and ready for the 7am rush. Both, with our laptops and phones, we had the list of campsites that we were trying to go for. She was calling at 6:50 and I had multiple copies of the reservation window open with all campsites read to be booked..........6:59:50 (refreshed internet time)....Heart thumping........I start clicking away....7:00:00.......<loading>.......<loading>........<loading>....<loading>....7:00:30....Unavailble.....Unavailable......Unavailable......... 7:01:00........that's it. Everything is booked. Goodbye camping trip...... It was really disappointing to see it all go away like that. It's like I never even had a chance with their system. Its like a combination of internet lag and dumb luck to get anything.... Well If anyone has any tips for next time please let me know or maybe alternate destinations for Aug 15. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions. Now back to bed for me.
Re: Failed reservations attempt!!!
April 15, 2009 08:18AM
I hear you...but I'm not sure what other system could be better??? Before there were online reservations, it was worse. I don't even bother trying the valley...I got my Tuolumne Meadows reservations for the next weekend, so I'm happy. But at 7:10, that weekend was also sold out.

You could try going to TM on your designated weekend, because half the sites are first come first served. Also 3 or 4 others along the Tigoa Road...same thing.
avatar Re: Failed reservations attempt!!!
April 15, 2009 08:51AM