Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Yosemite Valley

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (58% of Full)

Advanced

Re: upper pines site too small?

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

upper pines site too small?
June 10, 2008 11:20AM
I have a reservation for two nights at the upper pines campsite 169 which has a max length of 24'. I rented an RV and ended up with a 30' RV. Will I still be able to use the site or will the Ranger make me leave? Any thoughts or ideas?
avatar Re: upper pines site too small?
June 10, 2008 11:22AM
June 10, 2008 11:25AM
it says the driveway length is 34'5'" which gives me hope, but that rock to the right and tree to the left make me nervous ;-)
June 10, 2008 11:26AM
Just one of the reasons I like tents winking smiley

June 10, 2008 11:29AM
I'm new to the RV thing. I always tent camp but I have two kids with me so I decided not to bring it all with me on the plane ride from Chicago. I'll give it a try and if it doesn't work out, I'll head back to Yosemite Pines where I am now.
June 10, 2008 02:56PM
Don't they make tent-sized RVs?
June 10, 2008 03:57PM
Vince wrote:

> Don't they make tent-sized RVs?

Only if you are talking circus tents.

June 11, 2008 02:34PM
Camping gear can be rented from places like REI.
June 11, 2008 04:39PM
RobE wrote:

> Camping gear can be rented from places like REI.

Tends to be rather expensive. I priced how much it cost to rent a backpack, and I didn't think it was worth it. I'm sure they factor the cost of cleaning into the price of rentals.

You can buy tents and sleeping bags fairly cheap that are perfectly acceptable for car camping. I'd think for less than $150 I could find a tent, sleeping bags, and pillows for 2 adults and 2 kids. If it's for a short stay, it wouldn't even have to last. It could then be donated to some charity on the way out.