Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Nevada Falls

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (59% of Full)

Advanced

Re: An Autumn in Yosemite Valley

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

avatar An Autumn in Yosemite Valley
July 08, 2010 05:10PM
I know, it's hard to think about Autumn in the early days of summer, but I'm looking ahead and already planning our next visit. In this case, we'll probably be bringing a friend or two who aren't "hardcore" hikers, and so we'll want to stay in the valley and take shorter, easier day hikes. Like I've said in other posts, we need to be a bit frugal, and won't be staying in Camp Curry like we have in the past. I have no experience with valley campgrounds, though. Are there some that are better than others? There's a possibility we might have a borrowed tent trailer.

I've seen the valley in a spectacularly high-water spring (early May 2005*), in regular a spring (June 2007), and a light winter (Feb 2010). This will be my first trip in Autumn. What's special about the Valley in Sept/Oct? Also, if you had to pick, would you go in late-Sept or mid-Oct?

*After seeing all of the falls at such ridiculously high water rates, I had trouble recognizing them in the postcards in the gift shops.smiling smiley
avatar Re: An Autumn in Yosemite Valley
July 08, 2010 05:14PM
The three car campgrounds in the Valley aren't all that different from each other. You can see pictures of all the sites at http://yosemitecampsites.com/
July 08, 2010 06:16PM
I'd go to Bridalveil or one of the grounds on Tioga Pass, if still available. They are less parking lot, more foliage. The very last place I would go would be Wawona Campground.