Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Tuolumne Meadows and Lembert Dome during a summer storm, Yosemite National Park

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (61% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Echo Lake via Elizabeth/Nelson Lake and other TM questions (and a mini rant)

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Hey guys,

So this is my first time posting... I hope I'm not breaking any forum rules! I noticed that there was another post about Echo/Matthes Lake, but I don't think that those posts answered my questions...

I'm going to be backpacking in Yosemite this August (weekend of the 20th), and the original plan was to get to Mildred Lake via Cathedral Lakes and then back country towards Sunrise Lakes, then head out the next day. However, of course, Cathedral is ridiculous full for the next 3 months, and they probably filled up a while ago anyway. I chose this route because I did a similar one in Yosemite about 2 summers ago (my goodness time flies).

Anyhow, so I was thinking to challenge my group (group of 3, including me), and go back country a little further, and try and get to Echo Lake for the first night via Unicorn Creek/Elizabeth Lake and down towards Nelson and then head West past Matthes and camp at Echo for the first night. My map-reading skills are slightly rusty at this point, and it seems doable (and it seems like a decent amount of people have gone towards Matthes from Elizabeth). However, I'm not quite sure what the best way to get to Echo from Elizabeth is. I'm sending in my permit request tomorrow, but before that, I want to make sure of what I'm doing (to some extent).