Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Deer in Yosemite

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (62% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Snow Creek to Yosemite Falls Info?

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Snow Creek to Yosemite Falls Info?
May 25, 2011 02:45PM
Hi,

I'm a newbie to this site, but I figure if anyone can give me some info and advice, it will be someone here. If I can manage to snag a permit, I’m planning to do an overnighter this weekend, going up the Snow Creek Falls trail, traversing over to Yosemite Falls and coming down that trail. Although I’ve been up both of these trails before, I’ve never connected the two, and certainly haven’t tried to do this when there is snow (I’m assuming that a good part of this connection will be completely under snow). So my question to anyone who might have done this in winter – is this going to be a route-finding nightmare, and am I likely to encounter any impassible situations (like raging streams) trying to attempt this?

Thanks!
John
avatar Re: Snow Creek to Yosemite Falls Info?
May 25, 2011 04:39PM
It's not winter anymore. In winter Indian Canyon Creek crossing is snow bridged if I remember
correctly. Lehemite has logs... so it is non-issue imo year-round.
You may like these:
http://yosemitenews.info/forum/read.php?3,29866,29867#msg-29867

This is applicable to what you ask:
http://yosemitenews.info/forum/read.php?3,33697,33727#msg-33727

Most of the rim will not be an issue locating the trail. (def. not the case on Pohono)
You can skip Lehemite Crossing if you skip Indian Ridge and North Dome.
Since you have gone up both before you know what you are getting into.
Expect snow beyond the bridge. That is what they will tell you at the wilderness center.
Indian Canyon Creek was roaring last weekend (spied it from Pohono).