Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Tuolumne Meadows and Lembert Dome during a summer storm, Yosemite National Park

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (56% of Full)

Advanced

Re: Valley Reservations

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Valley Reservations
May 16, 2006 07:39PM
Have been trying to get reservations in the valley for June 16-21 for months (since Feb) but the valley was booked only hours after the reservation line opened.

Have reservations at Hodgdon Meadows; but it seems a ways from the valley.

Was wondering if it was worthwhile to continue efforts to get into the valley, or if Hodgdon is equally as nice.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Forgive the long post, I am a novice.
May 17, 2006 05:56AM
Cletus:

As you've noted, available campsites in Yosemite Valley are often reserved as soon as they become available. Hodgdon Meadow is about 40 minutes from the Valley.

You have a few options 1) you could consider is trying to get reservations for a tent cabin in Curry Village (prices start at around $70). The phone # for the front desk is 209-372-8334 or 8333. Another option (2) is Sunnyside campground which is also in the Valley. It is a first-come first-served campground...but there is often a line of people wanting to get the sites. 3) At times you can get a campsite by getting in line early and hoping for a cancellation for that day. Only thing is, if you're planning on staying for say, 4 days, and the person that cancelled was only staying two nights then you will be doing the same thing again in a couple of days.

You may find that Hodgdon Meadow is most appealing to you at this point.

Jon Shannon
www.YosemiteTrailsDVD.com
May 17, 2006 07:53AM