Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Fern on the Four Mile Trail, Yosemite National Park

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (74% of Full)

JanSport - Accept no Imitations. The Original Backpack since 1967.

Advanced

Re: TR: Budd-Matthes-Cathedral

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

TR: Budd-Matthes-Cathedral
July 07, 2016 11:47PM
Hi All,
I am new here, so let me start with a big thank-you to everyone for sharing valuable information on your trips, gear, and all. I've been reading and learning from this forum for more than a year by now and finally decided it was time to join especially after an unexpected and joyful meeting with two great contributors to this forum in person (their nicknames will be revealed later).
As for myself, I've been backpacking for a few years by now and recently started x-countrying (thanks to this forum again) which I find much more exciting and rewarding than hiking trails. My routes are not new to most of you, still I hope that my posts may be useful in some way.
So, here is my first TR to two of my favorite destinations in Yosemite, Matthes & Cathedral. The trip was over the 4th of July weekend and I was surprised not to see many people out there (mosquitoes perhaps?).

My wife and I started at Budd Creek TH and followed the climber’s trail till the first open area from which we enjoyed the view of Unicorn Peak and Cockscomb.

From there we decided to leave the trail and cross Budd creek to explore a small canyon that still had snow and interesting rock structures.

We stopped for snack at Budd Lake and met a guy who was contemplating crossing the saddle between Cockscomb and Echo Peaks that was covered in lots of snow.

We wished him good luck and resumed the hike up. The view from the top was spectacular.