Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Posts
Dogwood bloom in Yosemite Valley

The Moon is Waxing Gibbous (71% of Full)

Advanced

Is It Crazy To Hike To Eagle Peak In The Winter From Camp 4?

All posts are those of the individual authors and the owner of this site does not endorse them. Content should be considered opinion and not fact until verified independently.

Is It Crazy To Hike To Eagle Peak In The Winter From Camp 4?
January 16, 2013 10:29PM
Hi folks! I'm new here, so sorry if this topic has come up before, but I did a quick search and didn't find anything posted in the forum.

My question is: Is it impossible to do a 1 day hike to Eagle Peak from Camp 4 during the Winter? Has anyone in this forum been up there in January or February? If so, can I get by with snowshoes? Is the trail still visible under all of that snow? Is it dangerous out near the peak itself? Should I just give up on the idea and stick to the upper Yosemite Falls?

I'm a fairly avid photographer, and this will be my Fourth trip inside of 2 years, and I'm looking for more places to shoot that are off the beaten path. I just came across Eagle Peak a couple of weeks ago, but I was SHOCKED at how few shots there were on google & flickr compared to something like Glacier Point. Furthermore, there were virtually NO shots of the valley looking down from Eagle Peak in Winter. So...I'm wondering why that is. Do people just not GO there in the Winter, and if so, why?

I just need some advice before I try it in about 4 weeks. It seems doable, but I'm probably missing something here.
avatar Re: Is It Crazy To Hike To Eagle Peak In The Winter From Camp 4?
January 17, 2013 08:12AM
Why would you be shocked? There's a road to Glacier Pt. And in winter the
road is groomed and the building open for overnight sleeping.
(i.e. Glacier Point is hugely popular year round)
(and hiking/skiing a groomed trail is a whole lot easier than busting your own trail)
Eagle Peak. You a hikin. Period